Bo'ness (or Borrowstounness to give it its full name) lies on a hillside on the south bank of the Firth of Fourth. Its past includes mining, heavy industry and a busy commercial port. In 1787 the poet Robert Burns described it as ‘A dirty ugly place’ but as a new century dawned, coal mining and the opening of a new dock brought prosperity and investment to the town which transformed it. Photographs of residents at work and leisure show a lively vibrant community. Today it is a pleasant commuter town and in common with many post industrial communities, has a certain faded grandeur. This extensive collection of photographs follows the town and its people through its many stages of development since the late 19th century and includes images of the wide range of architectural styles to be found in the town.