Eastern Fells: Walking Guide to the Lake District (Mar)

Eastern Fells: Walking Guide to the Lake District


One name above all others has become associated with walking in the Lake District: Alfred Wainwright, whose seven-volume Pictorial Guide to the Lakeland Fells, first published in 1955– 66, has become the definitive guidebook. Wainwright’ s meticulously hand-drawn maps, diagrams and drawings take walkers up the 214 principal hills and mountains of the Lake District, describing the main routes of ascent from different starting points, as well as lesser-known variants, showing the summit viewpoint panoramas and the ridge routes that can be made to create longer walks. Every page combines words and illustrations to present the routes in a way that is original, visually appealing and easy to follow. The Eastern Fells, Book One of Wainwright’ s Walking Guides, covers the area north of Ambleside, between Ullswater and Thirlmere, and includes the ascents of popular fells such as Helvellyn, Catstycam, Fairfield and Red Screes.
  • Stock No
  • 57574
  • 9780711236288
  • Author
  • A Wainwright
  • Format
  • PB
 Currently out of Stock