Bothy: In Search of Simple Shelter (Apr)

Bothy: In Search of Simple Shelter

Description:

You will find a bothy in the mountains or the wilderness, remote huts you can’t reserve, usually without electricity or other mod-cons, running water or a marker on the map. And it’s there that you’ll meet Kat Hill – kettle on, feet up and pen out. Leading us on a gorgeous journey around the UK, Kat reveals the history of these wild mountain shelters and the people who visit them. With an historian’s insight and a rambler’s imagination, Kat lends fresh consideration to the concepts of nature, wilderness and escape. All the while, weaving together her story of heartbreak and new purpose with those her fellow wanderers – past and present. For readers of Robert MacFarlane and Raynor Winn, this is no conventional environmental history. Instead, writing with warmth and wit, Kat has crafted a compelling work of creative-nonfiction, travel memoir, cultural geography and environmental activism. Bothy is a stirring, beautiful book for anyone who longs to run away to the wilds.
  • Stock No
  • 11442
  • EAN/ISBN
  • 9780008619022
  • Author
  • Kat Hill
  • Format
  • HB
Reviews
 In stock
RRP:£16.99
Customers who bought this product also purchased
RRP:£10.99
RRP:£6.99
RRP:£25.00
RRP:£19.99
RRP:£6.99
RRP:£6.99
RRP:£9.99
RRP:£9.99
RRP:£10.99
RRP:£12.99