Opened in 1903 the introduction of a light narrow gauge railway connecting the town of Llanfair Caereinion with the main Cambrian Railway’s network at Welshpool brought about a major change for life in the surrounding countryside. Local industry and farming was transformed as a result of this much quicker, and more economic, method of exporting produce and importing necessary supplies. Passenger traffic was never particularly heavy and that service ceased in 1931. Goods traffic struggled on benefiting from a mini revival during The Second World War, surviving until competition from the improving road system brought about cessation of all services in 1956. That would have been the end of the story but for a band of local people who had fallen in love with the line and were determined to save it. All this is captured in this pocket sized album which shows why this gem of a railway is well worth a visit.